Sign In
​​The Telangana State Commercial Taxes Department in Telangana State Secretariat administers Acts & Rules related to Commercial Taxes, and will make policies pertaining to Commercial Taxes. It is the major revenue earning department and contributes about 65% to 70% of the total revenue of the State. The Department ensures that the Commercial Taxes Revenue is protected and collected by enforcing the Acts and Rules. This Department collected the revenue of Rs.23728 Crores in the year 2014-2015 (from June 2014 to March 2015). The Department will look after the Establishment & Disciplinary matters of all the employees of Commercial Taxes Department in the State.
The Following are the Acts are administered by the Revenue (CT) Department:

  • ​The Value Added Tax Act, 2005​
  • ​The Central Sales Tax Act, 1956.
  • The Entertainments Tax Act, 1939
  • The Horse Racing and Betting Tax, Regulation, 1358 Fasli 
  • The Tax on Professions, Trades, Callings and Employments Act, 1987.
  • The Tax on Luxuries Act, 1987.
  • The Tax on Entry of Motor Vehicles into Local Area Act, 96.
  • Rural Development Cess Act, 1996.

  • The Commercial Taxes Department has been at the fore front in using Information Technology for effective Tax administration since 1989. This further got an impetus in the VAT Regime where the focus was towards a more systems driven approach.
  • IT today is the backbone of the Department, providing both online dealer services and Intra-Departmental Functions
Sales Tax Appellate Tribunal:

There is one Sales Tax Appellate Tribunal in Telangana State at Hyderabad consisting of a Chairperson and two other Members to exercise the functions conferred on the Appellate Tribunal under the Act.

The Commercial Taxes Department Staff College conducts refresher courses to the departmental personnel

Commissioner of Commercial Taxes, Hyderabad
Dr. Christina Z. Chongthu, IAS
Sales Taxes Appellate Tribunal Smt. P.Sree Sudha, Chairperson
(District & Sessions Judge)
Commercial Taxes Department Staff College(Computer) Joint Commissioner
O/o CCT, Hyderabad


Organizations and Contacts

Note: As per the AP Reorganisation Act, 2014, certain institutions serve both the States of Telangana and Andhra Pradesh till they are bifurcated. The below listed organisations and institutions should be seen in that light.​ 

Spl. Chief Secretary
Sri Sunil Sharma, IAS,
​040-24652356, 23459942
Fax: 21618912
Commissioner of Commercial Taxes

Commissioner Dr. Christina Z. Chongthu, IAS
Fax: 24618912
Spl. Commissioner (Enft.) Sri M. Satyanarayana Reddy, IRS
040-24612352, 9515115170
Addl Commr, Grade-I, Policy Sri Laxmi Narayana Jannu
040-24652353, 9949992679
Addl Commr, IT & EIU -
Addl Commr, Services & Estb Smt Jaya Kameswari
040-24652355, 8008203188